top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

It All Started Like This

Evansville Culinary Tours (ECT) became a glint in my eye during a foodie extravaganza with some friends in the summer of 2016.

ECT found its way onto paper on January 3, was officially named on January 13th and immediately tagged with a fly or die date of March 10, 2017.

Fridays and Saturdays seem to be perfect days to offer lunch tours in Evansville, so that’s what I plan to do. In the next couple of weeks I’ll share how this boutique business is coming together. Once the tours start I can’t promise a whole lotta blogging will go on, but in the meantime this is how it’s all going down.

Cookie with attitude.

I already have rewarding work as a Personal Chef. So far, it’s been a fun and flavorful 25 years. People seem to like my food. I go to work happy and come home happy. I get smiley texts and messages from clients who are happy. It. Is. Good. Just slow.

Evansville, Indiana, my adopted hometown, is in the throws of a building boom. New hotels, event centers, a medical school, supporting upscale housing, restaurants and stores are filling out the skyline and reflecting economic hope in the shimmering flow of the Ohio River.

With all the building going on in the area, opportunity is everywhere! To take advantage of the boom and my slow time, I wrote out all the things possible to do with my talents within the bounds of my city. The scope is far broader than first imagined. After slashing the mundane and taming the crazier ideas, here’s my very short list of things I would willingly do in public for profit:

• talk

• eat

• cook

• entertain

• exercise

Obviously, it’s not an exhaustive list, and not too far from my usual M.O. The fact is, I don’t want to be everything to everyone in my new business. Success comes easier and faster when the plan is simple.

The focus of Evansville Culinary Tours is to offer tasty food samples and fun facts at small clusters of restaurants to people wanting to experience the food, the people and the atmosphere of local eateries during a 2 or 3 hour tour.

In the year 2017, Evansville Culinary Tours will celebrate food and the hands that make it at unique restaurants and specialty shops in Greater Evansville. Please join us. For tickets: http://EvansvilleCulinaryTours.com

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page